New Zealand Broadcasting School
© New Zealand Broadcasting School 2023

Student up for Voyager Award

Steven Walton is one of five nominees to be named student journalist of the year in the Voyager Media Awards.

The nomination is for his reporting in the school's news outlet METRONEWS last year.

Steven Walton Winston Peters
Steven Walton interviews NZ First leader and deputy prime minister Winston Peters.

Walton is now in the third year of his degree, part-way through completing an internship at Stuff, based in The Press newsroom in Christchurch. Right now, of course, he is working from home during the Covid19 lockdown.

"I'm loving every minute of my time with The Press," Walton said.

"I've learnt a lot from being in a newsroom of this calibre and I'm so pleased to see that many journalists I'm working alongside have also been nominated."

He felt fortunate to be recognised and said the nomination was "good news to wake up to".

NZBS head of school Tony Simons said he was proud of Walton's achievement.

"It is great to see Steven's very good work on METRONEWS rewarded in this way. He shows great promise as a journalist and in already proving himself working as an intern at The Press in Christchurch."

Walton entered the following three stories into the Voyagers:

This is the second year running a current NZBS student has been a finalist in the student. Last year, Aaron Dahmen was nominated while interning at TVNZ.

Also nominated in the student journalism category is recent NZBS graduate Charlotte Cook.

Cook, who is a reporter a RNZ, said it was "pretty bloody cool" to be a finalist.

Here's a throwback to when Cook, as a first-year journalism student, interviewed the then soon-to-be Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern:

Elevator Pitch: Jacinda Ardern

Other former NZBS students to receive Voyager nominations are:

  • Paula Penfold (Stuff), Broadcast journalism
  • Māni Dunlop (RNZ), Māori affairs journalism
  • Samantha Olley (NZME), Feature writing - junior
  • Brook Sabin (Stuff), Travel journalism
  • Logan Church (RNZ), Best video journalist - junior 
  • Sean Hogan (TVNZ), Best video journalist - junior
  • Cass Marrett (Re:/TVNZ), Best video journalist - junior
  • Nathan Morton (Local Focus NZME), Best video journalist - junior


Do you want to become a journalist?

Click here to apply for a place in our journalism degree

Or, contact Daniel Nielsen for more information.