New Zealand Broadcasting School
© New Zealand Broadcasting School 2022

NZBS features at the New Zealand Radio Awards 2020

Radio Awards 2020

Congratulations to the winners and finalists of the New Zealand Radio Awards 2020

The 2020 New Zealand Radio Awards looked a bit different from previous years, but it didn't change that a large number of NZBS students featured as both winners and finalists.

The awards acknowledge the great content produced across all areas of the radio industry including on-air personalities, news & sports coverage, marketing, advertising and community involvement.

Graduates of NZBS (Juliet Wrathall, Brynee Wilson and Petra Ashcroft) won in all three Best New Broadcaster categories.

ZM's Fletch, Vaughan & Megan took out one of the most sought-after awards with "Best Breakfast Show - Music Network".  Vaughan and Megan are both grads

And the award for "Outstanding Contribution to Radio" went to former NZME Group Manager, Entertainment, Dean Buchanan and Nicki Reece, Manager of Plains FM received the award for Services to Broadcasting.  

Associated Craft Award: Winner - Harry Pali  

Best Community Campaign: Finalists - Claire Chellew, Chris Key, Tom Harper, Joe Shuker, Zoe George, Chris Goodwin

Best Content Director: Winner - Amy Tempero. Finalist - Reagan White

Best Entertainment Podcast: Winner - Dayna Ruka, Charlotte Hargreaves

Best News/Current Affairs Podcast: Finalists - Alex Ashton, Kethaki Masilamani

Best Show Producer - Music Show: Winner - Ben McDowell. Finalists: Ryan Maguire 

Best Show Producer - Talk Show (Joint Winner): Winner - Michael Allan

Best Station Imaging: Winner - Alistair Cockburn, Brynee Wilson

Best Station Trailer: Winner - Alistair Cockburn. Finalist: Alistair Cockburn

Best Video: Winner - Claire Chellew, Tom Harper, Chris Key. Finalists: Claire Chellew, Stacey Wouters

Best Breakfast Show - Music Network: Winner - Vaughan Smith, Megan Papas, Caitlin Marett, James Johnston, Anna Henvest. Finalists: Ryan Maguire, Meg Annear

Best Team Show - Music Network: Winner - Jack Honeybone. Finalists: Clint Roberts, Ben McDowell

Best Music Breakfast Show – Local: Finalist - Steve Joll

Best Music Host – Local: Winner - Will Johnston 

Best Talk Presenter - Breakfast or Drive: Finalist - Lisa Owen

Best Talk Presenter – Other:  Finalist - Martin Devlin

Best New Broadcaster – Journalist: Winner - Katie Scotcher. Finalist - Rachel Das

Best New Broadcaster - Off-Air: Winner - Juliet Wrathall. Finalist: Brynee Wilson 

Best New Broadcaster - On-Air: Winner - Petra Ashcroft

Best News or Sports Journalist: Finalists - Logan Church, Mitchell Alexander

Best Sports Reader, Presenter or Commentator: Winner - Martin Devlin. Finalist: Jason Pine

Best Sports Story - Team Coverage: Finalists - Tom Harper, Joe Shuker

Best Access Radio Programme: Winner - Nicki Reece

Best Children's Programme: Finalist - Phil Yule (x 2 nominations), Jack Tame

Best Documentary or Factual Talk Feature: Finalist: William Ray

Best Music Feature: Winner - Reagan White. Finalist: Brynee Wilson 

Best Marketing Campaign: Finalists - Stacey Wouters, Emily Hancox

Best Network Station Promotion: Winner - Caitlin Coffey, Sean Hill, Guy Mansell. Finalist: Caitlin Coffey

Best Single Market Station Promotion: Winner - David Smith. Finalist: Mitchell Fulton, Grace Rhynd, Ruby Bain,  Jess Taylor

Best Website and Social Content: Winner - Lucy Carthew. Finalist: Jack Honeybone (x 2 nominations)

Best Commercial Campaign: Winner - Rew Shearer

Sales Team of the Year: Finalist - Steve Keats

'The Blackie Award': Winner - Ryan Maguire. Finalist: Jack Honeybone

Outstanding Contribution to Radio: Dean Buchanan

Services to Broadcasting: Nicki Reece

A full list of award winners can be found here: